PAREF Woodrose student wins in China Math Contest

Rappler  August 15, 2015


MANILA, Philippines – Young Filipino students continued their winning streak in international math contests by taking home 27 medals in two competitions held in China.

At the China Girls Mathematical Olympiad (CGMO) – one of the toughest math contests today – held in Shenzhen in Guangdong, China, from August 10 to 14, the 5 delegates from the Philippines all won medals.

Winning silver medals are:

  • Andrea Jaba - St Jude Catholic School (Manila)
  • Jinger Chong - St Jude Catholic School (Manila)

Bagging bronze medals are:

  • Isabel Jocyn Villanueva - PAREF Woodrose School (Muntinlupa)
  • Natalie Beatrice Dy - St John's Institute (Bacolod City)
  • Tiffany Mae Ong - Immaculate Conception Academy (San Juan)

Last year, the Philippines won two silver and 2 bronze medals in the said tilt. (RELATED: PH kids win 138 medals in Hong Kong math challenge)

"I congratulate our young girls for winning in this year’s CGMO," said Simon Chua, president of the Mathematics Trainers Guild Philippines (MTG).

Participating countries and territories in the CGMO are the United States, Singapore, Russia, Singapore, Malaysia, Indonesia, Macau, Hong Kong, the Philippines, and China, which topped the contest.

Meanwhile, the Philippine team won 3 gold and 19 bronze medals, plus 30 merit awards at the 2015 World Mathematics Invitational (WMI) in Guilin, China from August 8 to 12.

Countries that joined this year's WMI are China, Taiwan, Thailand, Malaysia, Korea, Macau, and the Philippines.

According to the Mathematics Development Academy of the Philippines, the Filipino medalists are:

Gold Medal

  • Philip Ezekiel Tan III - Philippine Science High School-Main
  • Ayezza Myrisse Candelario - Negros Occidental National Science High School
  • Eric Fabian Mendez Jr - Philippine Science High School-Bicol Region

Bronze Medal

  • Evan Nathaniel Collantes - Divine Light Academy
  • Nathan Gabriel Neria - Grace Christian College
  • Alyanna Almirol - Falcon School
  • Franz Achilles Lindayag - Ateneo de Davao University
  • Cyrus Nolasco - Dasmariñas II Central School
  • Andrea Zyrene Palisoc - BHC Educational Institution
  • Jehan Domenden - St Paul College of Ilocos Sur
  • Angie Claryl Caccam - Tuguegarao West Central School
  • Gianna Patricia Jimenez - San Beda College-Alabang
  • Martin Johan Ocho - De La Salle Zobel
  • Bedrich Damasco - Immaculate Conception Parochial School
  • Justin Reign Aguinaldo - Philippine Yuh Chiau School
  • Hannah Isabelle Mediavillo - Colegio San Agustin-Biñan
  • Amery Caleb Atinon - Xavier School
  • Natasha Mae Delmo - Dr Vicente F. Gustilo Memorial National High School
  • Nazka Leosala - Taguig Science High School
  • Makarios Joash Wee - Philippine Christian Gospel School
  • Maria Cassandra Vitug - International British Academy
  • Nicanor Chan Jr. - St Paul University

The following kids took home Merit Awards:

  • Kyla Keith Tan - Lanao Chung Hua School
  • Kristen Anne Deodores - Colegio San Agustin - Biñan
  • Shaun Nicolo Salazar - PAREF Southridge School
  • Daryl Josef Fernandez - Dasmariñas II Central School
  • Joan Ian Ross Llavore - Macalva Elementary School
  • Roy Vincent Lopico - Saint Barachiel Special Science School
  • Jhurgen Keith Selwyn Pascua - Eastern Gate Christian Academy
  • Maria Domnique Beltran - University of St Louis Tuguegarao
  • Ashlyn FarahTadeo - Jesus is Lord Colleges Foundation
  • Alexa Frann Barbadillo - Colegio de San Ignacio
  • Jan Michael Ortaliz - Trinity Christian School
  • Karylle Faye Lopez - Tuguegarao West Central School
  • Jomico Marcus Costales - BHC Educational Institution
  • Kasey Amira Cristobal - Columban College - Barreto
  • Ella Katrina Sesuca - St Paul College of Ilocos Sur
  • Melissa Joy Co - Ke Bing School
  • Ma. Allyssa Bea Duya - Iloilo Scholastic Academy
  • Macky Emerson Benitez - St Augustine's School
  • Francesca Bettina Bernabe - Philippine Yuh Chiau School
  • Kasler Dell Abansi - BHC Educational Institution
  • Julla Gray Cerezo - Divine Word Academy of Dagupan
  • Marinel Conceja - Lyceum of Aparri
  • Josua James Angelo Galotera - Philippine Science High School-Western Visayas
  • Ivaniel Salen - Sen. Renato Compañero Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School
  • Bryan Kier Leopando - Tagbilaran City Science High School
  • Diego Gabriel Rodriguez - Don Bosco Technical Institute
  • Jethro Mendoza - Regional Science High School I
  • Samantha Jule Ebarle - University of San Carlos-South
  • Christel Joyce Castro - Sen. Renato Compañero Cayetano Memorial Science and Technology High School
  • Markus Christoffer Toribio - Lyceum of Aparri

Donate Now


Featured Video

Paref E-Newsletter

Sign up now to our E-newsletter!

Joomla Extensions powered by Joobi